Scholarship Fund

The MARSP Foundation Board determined in 1995 that one area of education in which there seems to be a void was financial assistance for the public school employees.  “Some time ago I enthusiastically supported the idea that the Foundation provide scholarships to working members of the retirement system who wanted to improve their position in the workforce through continuing education,” said Foundation Past Chairman Richard J. Smith.  The first scholarships were awarded in 1996.  The scholarship is available for all public school employees, no matter what their current position is, as long as they are furthering their education in an area that will be beneficial to working in the public school arena.  The scholarship grants are disbursed in July, and are usually for the fall semester for the year in which the scholarship is awarded.  To date, the MARSP Foundation has awarded 57 scholarships, in amounts ranging from $300 to $1000.

Funds for the scholarships come from the contributions of MARSP members and supporters.  Checks or credit card payments can be mailed to the MARSP Foundation directly, and come in various amounts from $1.00 to $1,000.  If you would like to make a contribution to this worthwhile project, you may send a check or money order, or make a credit card payment using the contribution form linked below.

Because the Foundation Scholarship Fund is a designated fund, it cannot be used for any other purpose.  Also, contributions to the fund are tax-deductible for those who itemize.

If you who would like to apply for the scholarship, or know of someone who would, please complete, or give to another applicant, the scholarship application form included on this website.  Applications are accepted only from January 1 to March 31 of the year in which the scholarship will be awarded. If you have a question regarding the dates, please contact the MARSP office.  Following are the eligibility requirements.

Eligibility: Any current employee of any public school system which reports to MPSERS (Michigan Public School Employees Retirement System) may receive a scholarship grant for any and all educational endeavors available from, but not limited to, a four-year degree granting institution of higher learning, a community college, a technical or vocational institution within the state of Michigan, or seminars/workshops offered by any legally established professional organization from within the state of Michigan.  It is expected that the recipient will agree to continue to work in a Michigan public sector educational institution for at least one year following the date of the completion of the training.  Withdrawal from the program prior to completion may result in a loss of funding.  The grant shall not exceed $1,000.00.  Disbursement of all scholarship funds (tuition and materials) shall be made directly to the institution or professional organization up to the amount of the scholarship award.  IRS requires the recipient’s social security number to receive this grant.  Applications are posted in the January - February issue of the VANGUARD.

MARSP Foundation Scholarship Committee
Tom Nyquist, Manistee County Chapter, Chairman
Marilyn Schnieder, Huron County Chapter


MARSP Foundation Scholarship Fund Recipients


Denise A. Cole, Kalamazoo, MI, Western Michigan University
  Barbara A. Hoffmeyer, Onaway, MI, Spring Arbor University
  Sharon L. Morgan, Kalamazoo, MI, Western Michigan University
  Heidi K. Yager, Muskegon, MI, Grand Valley State University
2002 Pamela M. Ackley, Charlotte, MI, Lansing Community College
  Brie K. Minshall, Grand Ledge, MI, Central Michigan University
  Donna Jean Piper, Ossineke, MI, Alpena Community College
  Katie Rondeau-Thomson, Ossineke, MI, Marygrove College
2001 Angela C. Dalton, Muir, MI, Aquinas College
2000 Angela C. Dalton, Muir, MI, Aquinas College
  Ellen M. George, Detroit, MI, Madonna University
  Pamela L. Hotchkiss, Belding, MI, Spring Arbor College
  Cynthia Anne Raymo, Caseville, MI, Oakland University
  Wendy J. Schmitz, Montrose, MI, Saginaw Valley State University
1999 No scholarships awarded
1998 Robin Alger, Davison, MI, University of Michigan-Flint
  Wendy DeWolfe, Parma, MI, Madonna University
  Shelley Freeland, Bailey, MI, Baker College
  Joseph A. George, Flint, MI, Computer Data, Inc.
  Judy Goldberg, Saginaw, MI, Delta College
  Gayle L. Jones, Marysville, MI, University of Michigan-Flint
  Curtis A. Krohn, Bad Axe, MI, Saginaw Valley State University
  Vicki Ellen Pett, Saginaw, MI, Delta College
1997 Bonnie Clark, Grand Valley State University
  Gayle L. Jones, Marysville, MI, St. Clair Community College
  Dana Mikesell, Western Michigan University
  Deborah Schranski, Davenport College
1996 Dorothy Dow Hannum, Saginaw Valley State University
  Elizabeth Gonzalez, Lenawee, Lenawee ISD Vocational-Technical Center
  Amy Howard, Eastern Michigan University
  Carolyn S. O’Neil, University of Michigan-Flint
2010 No scholarships awarded
2009 Susan Boven, Caledonia, Learner's Edge Inc.
  Tammy Hereau, Cornell, Lake Superior State University

Lori Janczewski, Rose City, Saginaw Valley State University

  Adriana Ranta, Mason, Eastern Michigan University
2008 Lynn Amato, Boyne City, Grand Valley State University
  Jennifer Bess, Farmington Hills, Eastern Michigan University
  Kimberly Cole, Detroit, University of Detroit Mercy
  Tammy Hereau, Cornell, Lake Superior State University
  Michelle Pifer, Williamston, Michigan Technological University
  Shannon Tripp, Alto, Western Michigan University


Heidi Aldrich, Breckenridge, MI, Central Michigan University
  Dean Gage, Saranac, MI, Ferris State University
  Olivier Harminel, Holt, MI, Bureau of Education & Research
  Kerry Zylka, South Lyon, MI, Eastern Michigan University
2006 Lisa Bell, Flint, MI, University of Michigan-Flint Campus
  Jill Blyveis, Otsego, MI, Kalamazoo Valley Community College
  Katherine Demorest, Battle Creek, MI, Michigan State University
  Cherril Lott, Redford, MI, Eastern Michigan University
  Kerry Zylka, South Lyon, MI, Eastern Michigan University
2005 Mark Burton, Cedar Springs, MI, Cornerstone University
  Susan Busken, Norton Shores, MI, Grand Valley State University
  Linda Fineout, Indian River, MI, Spring Arbor University
  Molly Ross, Caseville, MI, Saginaw Valley State University
2004 Sherrieanne Farnsworth, Gregory, MI Eastern Michigan University
  Molly Ross, Caseville, MI, Saginaw Valley State University
  Rayme Martineau, Autrain, MI, Northern Michigan University
  Lori Simpson, Otisville, MI, Eastern Michigan University